The Sea. M. K. Čiurlionis. Notes

Symphony poem
Score and parts

Year of publication: 2000
Publisher: Jonas Petronis
Edited by R. Misiukevičius

Although M. K. Čiurlionis is primarily remembered as a visual artist, his musical work is no less original and significant to the development of Lithuanian music. He was first interested in composing, and only later immersed himself in painting. During his short life, M. K. Čiurlionis has composed about 300 pieces for the choir, piano, organ, string quartet, and orchestra. In addition, he is the first Lithuanian composer to create both symphonic and chamber music.
The symphonic poems "In the Forest" and "The Sea" are probably the most famous examples of Čiurlionis' music. Unfortunately, none were performed while the composer was still alive.
To buy: